//
you're reading...
Mentees

Lauren Hall – Mentee

Lauren HallI am absolutely delighted to be involved in the first year of the John Schofield Trust Mentoring Scheme. My mentor is Christian Fraser, the BBC’s Paris Correspondent. I am really benefiting from his advice and support and I hope it is helping me to become a better journalist.

I have been working in journalism for just over four years, starting in local radio before moving into regional television news. I am currently working as a reporter with ITV Anglia and have the opportunity to work on a wide range of news stories. I am able to get involved in every stage of producing a report, from coming up with story ideas to doing the editing and camera work.

I applied for the mentoring scheme because I felt I needed some guidance at this early stage of my career. I wanted to develop in quite a few different areas and work towards doing more original and investigative pieces of journalism. My mentor has offered invaluable advice and I feel I am improving all the time. He regularly provides detailed feedback on my work with useful observations on everything from my scripting to my interview technique.

I have also been keen to work on my live reporting, particularly when it comes to breaking news stories. My mentor has changed the way I approach live broadcasts; I now feel far more confident doing them and this has made a real difference to my work.

We have set some other aims and objectives for the rest of the year. I already feel I have gained a great deal from the mentoring scheme and I am looking forward to developing even further over the next few months. 

About storyfollower

I am a journalist. I like to draw and write about the world around me.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

