//
you're reading...
Mentees

Josh Strauss – Mentee

Josh StraussI’m a video producer for the Guardian Newspaper. I started at the Guardian under the Scott Trust Guardian Films internship, working on long form investigations into social injustices and human rights violations internationally.

I now work for Guardian Multimedia, which covers a wider range of video content from music, sport, culture and life & style, to short-form news and current affairs.

Before joining the Guardian, I worked for BBC Radio 2 and the BBC World Service, as well as spells at Films of Record, Blakeway and Ronachan Films.

My specific area of interest lies in East African affairs, since studying African language, culture and Swahili at the School of Oriental and African Studies. My ambition is to take the experience I’ve gained working in UK broadcast journalism, to East Africa.

Issues of conflict and forced migration have for a long time been of great interest and concern to me. Through a readjusted lens, I wish to expose the much more complex and conflicted environments and situations that those living on the ‘periphery’ of our societies experience every day.

Making your way in the media industry is very difficult at the best of times, and during such a tumultuous period for broadcasters and news outlets, it’s become a real struggle.

Having the support of a vastly experienced industry professional has therefore been immeasurably valuable to me. Knowing that there is someone who is dedicated to helping and advising me, gives me a lot more confidence and resolve.

I know I’ll be facing many difficult challenges over the next few months, but now that I am part of the John Schofield Trust Mentoring Scheme, I feel more able to confront these challenges head on and much closer to one day reaching my aspirations as a journalist and film maker.

About storyfollower

I am a journalist. I like to draw and write about the world around me.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

