//
you're reading...
Mentees

Holly Wallis – Mentee

Holly WallisI am currently working as a broadcast journalist for BBC News Online.

I joined the UK team six months ago, just in time for the Diamond Jubilee, London 2012 Olympics and Paralympic Games, so it’s already been a great year.

Previous to this, I spent a year as a BA and web producer on the Today programme, and then worked as a researcher for Radio 4 on the World at One, PM, World Tonight, and Broadcasting House programmes.

Before the BBC, I freelanced for commercial radio stations across Scotland, where I also launched a current affairs magazine, and eventually moved to London to present news programmes at a station in Hayes.

Apart from a love of politics and home affairs, I have always had a strong interest in world news. I’ve lived abroad for much of my life, in China, New Zealand, Europe and Brazil, and worked with TV current affairs teams in Malta, Brazil, and at Al Jazeera. My ambition is to become an editor on a hard-hitting news desk or programme, and I joined the mentoring scheme to help me work towards this goal.

My mentor is ITV’s Home Affairs Editor Lucy Manning. For me, the best thing about the mentoring has been getting the opportunity and time to talk to someone as experienced and successful as Lucy. We discuss all sorts of things about journalism and go through practical ways to improve.

Something that has particularly helped me has been setting a few aims each time we meet – which has given me targets to work towards.

On top of everything, I’ve really enjoyed it.

 

About storyfollower

I am a journalist. I like to draw and write about the world around me.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

