//
you're reading...
Mentees

Natalia Rolleston – Mentee

Natalia RollestonI’m a broadcast journalist working for BBC World Service News & Current Affairs in London. I’ve been a reporter for the BBC in Devon and Guernsey, an assistant producer/ researcher for factual TV programme Inside Out at BBC South West and even at one time, a corporate head hunter. This was part of a portfolio career which took its form when I decided to become a journalist but still needed to supplement my meagre earnings.

There were various stints at Radio 4, Woman’s Hour, You & Yours, The Media Show and even a feature on Traveller’s Tree which saw me ‘couch surfing’ in Poland for the first time. These days I am a radio producer working across a range of programmes which include Newshour, Newsday, World Have Your Say and US co-production The World.

I cut my teeth as a reporter and newsreader in local radio, both for the BBC and commercial outlets in Plymouth, Torquay, Exeter and the Channel Islands. But as a French and Russian speaker I felt it was time to leave my West Country roots behind and see if the capital could offer a different perspective.

That said, although I may be calling countries as diverse as Syria, China and Finland in one day, nothing quite beats the excitement of scoping out original stories, on the ground, in your own patch.

The John Schofield Trust mentoring scheme has presented a great opportunity to pick the brains of my mentor Tim Franks, to find out how best to further my efforts to become a foreign correspondent. He has given me some excellent pointers and some sage advice so far. I look forward to meeting up again soon, having implemented some of the ideas we have discussed.

About storyfollower

I am a journalist. I like to draw and write about the world around me.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

