//
you're reading...
Mentees

Shaunagh Connaire – Mentee

Shaunagh ConnaireI’m an Irish journalist currently working for Channel 4 Unreported World.

Having trained as an accountant with KPMG, I decided to chase my journalism dream in London three years ago. I completed my TV masters at Goldsmiths University and was shortlisted as ‘Student Broadcast Journalist of the Year’ in 2009 by the Guardian and Sky News. After interning at BBC HARDtalk, I spent the following two years at BBC World and CNBC International as a producer.

I applied for the John Schofield mentoring scheme, as I was ready to take my career to the next level. I successfully had my foot in the door in the industry but wasn’t quite sure where to direct it next. I had been all over the world as a producer, interviewed several high profile politicians, CEOs and big thinkers but lacked a career focus and was eager to realign my original journalistic goals.

….And then along came Evan Davis!

An exceptionally busy journalist who starts his day at 3am, Evan has literally been available to me whenever I need him. We meet face to face every month and discuss my work, his work and the industry at large. Evan has been remarkably generous with his advice and I took a few more gambles this year with the support of my very knowledgeable ‘soundboard’.

The John Schofield Mentoring Scheme has been an illuminating experience and I would encourage all budding journalists to apply for this unique opportunity.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

