//
you're reading...
Mentees

Will Mott – Mentee

Will MottI began work at ITN in the summer of 2008 working for the online team before getting the job as the intern in the ITV News Washington bureau. I helped the team with our coverage of Obama’s election campaign, a hurricane and everything in between before returning to the London newsroom in 2009.

Since then I have worked on the newsdesk as an Assistant News Editor for the Home, Foreign and Late teams, but a career as a reporter has always been my goal since I fell in love with the industry as a 15-year-old working on the sports desk of my local paper.

After a period of training and shadowing I started helping out the overnight, lunchtime and weekend teams at ITV News with sports wraps as well as general reporter shifts. The highlight of my career so far was a News at Ten piece on Jonny Wilkinson’s retirement and of course working as the Olympics and Paralympics producer this summer.

I applied for the John Schofield Trust mentoring scheme as it seemed an unmissable opportunity to learn from some of the most experienced and successful television journalists of our generation. The guidance and advice my mentor can offer me – as well as trading stories with my fellow mentees – is proving to be a great asset and source of encouragement as I look to progress my career. I’m determined to make the most of what I hope will continue to be a productive and enjoyable relationship.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

