//
you're reading...
Mentors

Matthew Price – Mentor

Matthew PriceWhy did you sign up to be a mentor for the trust?
There were several people who helped me at various points of my career – and without them I am sure I wouldn’t be where I am doing a job that I love. The scheme gives young people a chance to have those kind of contacts, and hopefully some similar help as well. It’s a chance to give back a little.

Had you ever done anything like this before?
Only informally, which works fine. But this is a welcome step up from that I think.

How much of commitment has it been for you?
It was always a worry that with a busy and unpredictable work-schedule the scheme would perhaps become too time consuming. But with email and video exchange helping reduce physical distance, and with careful thought about what could be useful to the mentee it’s been fairly relaxed.

How have you found the experience so far?
It’s been enlightening. Journalists always like to talk about what they “know” – that’s a given. But I’ve also been learning a fair amount, about how the new intake of journalists work, how they view their jobs, how they make use of new technology. Journalism is always evolving – and it’s useful to get a younger perspective on the job.

About storyfollower

I am a journalist. I like to draw and write about the world around me.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

