//
you're reading...
Mentors

Penny Marshall – Mentor

Penny MarshallWhy did you sign up to be a mentor for the trust?
I remember John; his integrity and consistency were qualities that I value in journalists and of course I remember his youth as mine diminishes.

Thinking about him makes me grateful for what we have and I think about passing things on.

I like helping young people and it is an honour to try to pass on some of the values John embodied. The industry is very uncertain now with fewer staff positions and many more freelance contracts and so it is a harder place to navigate.

Had you ever done anything like this before?
I teach at City University and often find myself helping young people in an ad-hoc manner. It is a privilege to be exposed to the energy and optimism young people have.

How much of commitment has it been for you?
It has hardly taken any time – in terms of face to face meetings;  My mentee and me are like ships passing in the night, but we talk and every decision benefits from discussion – every concern helped by sharing.

How have you found the experience so far?
I have enjoyed getting to know my mentee  and hope we will stay in touch beyond the scheme.

What do you feel that you get out of it?
I am reminded what a privilege  having this job and doing this job is.

About storyfollower

I am a journalist. I like to draw and write about the world around me.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

