//
you're reading...
Mentees

Stuart Duggan – Mentee

Stuart DugganI am a freelance broadcast journalist. I mainly work at Sky News in London.

I first became interested in broadcasting whilst studying at the University of Sussex, where I studied for an English Literature degree. I joined the student radio station, University Radio Falmer (the same station that John Schofield worked for while he was at Sussex) in my final year.

After university I completed a post-grad BJTC course at the National Broadcasting School, which was then based on the Sussex campus. I started freelancing for local radio two days after graduating, working at several stations in East and West Sussex.

Four months later I got a staff job at Bright FM, in Burgess Hill. During my three years there, the station grew from one to two, and then to four. I worked for a newsroom in Worthing that covered stories for Bright, Arrow, Sovereign and Splash FM.

In the summer of 2010 I completed two ambitions of mine: to take a comedy show to the Edinburgh Fringe Festival, which I did with my improv troupe Off the Cuff; and to go travelling around the world. My trip to India, Australia, New Zealand and South America lasted for 11 months, during which time I wrote a detailed blog to keep my writing and reporting skills sharp.

In September 2011 I began freelancing at Sky News Radio, who hold the Independent Radio News contract for the UK commercial radio network. I still work for SNR regularly, but have recently moved into the fields of digital (Sky News’s iPhone and iPad apps) and television too.

I applied for the John Schofield mentoring scheme in January 2012. I think it’s especially important for freelancers to actively seek out advice from mentors.

The more direction you can get from those more experienced than you, the better.

About storyfollower

I am a journalist. I like to draw and write about the world around me.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

