//
you're reading...
Mentees

Mentee news – Laura Trueman

laura trueman pic

I have been a Broadcast Journalist for the BBC in Belfast for almost five years now and work across radio, online and politics. I first came to the BBC during my Journalism Masters placement and since beginning the job I have brought original stories such as a student flat scam and wheelchair users being charged a third more in Belfast taxis. I have also been working on live current affairs programmes when the News of the World announced it was to have its last edition and news of Ian Paisley’s death broke.

I applied to be part of the John Schofield Trust mentoring scheme when I was struggling with confidence in the job and felt I needed help with interview skills. It was great to be placed with someone as successful and senior as the Head of Home News and the Deputy Head of Newsgathering at Sky, Sarah Whitehead. Sarah has carried out phone and face-to-face interviews. This constant revising, preparation and feedback will prove invaluable for when I next have an interview. Sarah has also given useful advice on how how I can set myself apart from my peers and has introduced and helped me to build up useful contacts at the John Schofield events.

I have really enjoyed being on the scheme and would recommend anyone who is at the beginning of their career to apply. To have people so senior dedicating so much of their time to you for an entire year really is something that would be difficult to come by otherwise.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

